Tuesday, November 02, 2010

Alzheimer's Stages?

My latest release,Fear No Evil, involves Alzheimer's. I wrote this into the story because my family had recently lost my grandmother. So, I kept hearing about the "stages" of this disease. I went to the Alzheimer's Association for answers. From their website:

Experts have developed “stages” to describe how a person’s abilities change from normal function through advanced Alzheimer’s. It is important to keep in mind that stages are general guides, and symptoms vary greatly. Not everyone will experience the same symptoms or progress at the same rate.

This seven-stage framework is based on a system developed by Barry Reisberg, M.D., clinical director of the New York University School of Medicine’s Silberstein Aging and Dementia Research Center.

Stage 1: No impairment
Stage 2: Very mild decline
Stage 3: Mild decline
Stage 4: Moderate decline (mild or early stage)
Stage 5: Moderately severe decline (moderate or mid-stage)
Stage 6: Severe decline (moderately severe or mid-stage)
Stage 7: Very severe decline (severe or late stage)

For more explanation, visit the Alzheimer's Association website by clicking on the name above.

No comments: